Monday, February 27, 2017

Racism 2.0
The first thing I did was Google what is race baiting and the result was interesting.

The fact that it stated it that liberals are the ones that are using this term is the most shocking to me. But yet it kind of makes sense. I wanted to see what the internet had to say before I watched the video. 

"A slave was considered unfortunate not inferior." This quote really stuck with me. Because African American slaves in America were treated inferior, but they were also thought of as "unfortunate" for being black. Because if there were two children born at the same time, but were a different race their lives would be completely and utterly so different it makes me sick to think about it. Before it use to be on the wrong side of the war.

 Truthfully I have never dealt with racism in my personal life. While I have seen videos on the internet and such, I haven't been a part of the racism or been discriminated for my race. Since I grew up in South Jordan, Utah I was the majority and truthfully there wasn't a melting pot of people. Just a lot of white people middle and upper class. Now there were some variations, but the majority was definite. While it hasn't effected me directly that I know of, I still know that this is a major issue and I am against it 100%. I try and do my part (what I can), but this is mainly me telling my grandpa that he isn't allowed to throw around racial slurs and he should never call anyone a coon, whether is he "joking" or people need to stop being so sensitive. I agree that the new generation is full of a lot of sensitivity, this is not people being sensitive this is a real major issue. 

My favorite is when he stated that we would still have these major issues and need reform, but the three tiers are still real. No matter how often I hear about the poverty in America it still shocks me. I recently heard about the "hidden America, children of the mountains," this made me feel like absolute shit. That I am here complaining about things like not having ice cream or running out of coffee creamer, while people IN AMERICA do not have running water or electricity, they have never been to the dentist and yet we sit around and do nothing. Our country is doing nothing, but there are a few that are and I want to join them. Because I am done being a bystander for racism, poverty, and all the injustices that are occurring. 

The Race Baiting video is incredible and I want to share it on my Facebook and show everyone I know. 

Wednesday, February 15, 2017

On the Media-
The first story I want to discuss is the protests. It is interesting to hear how many protests there have been recently. Civil disobedience blows my mind. I understand wanting to create a larger penalty for this and I can see some of the value for raising the punishment. Part of this in my mind could be to scare others off so that this uproar in civil disobedience is taken down, but I am also scared that this can go too far and completely take away our rights as citizens. Some of the topics they brought up about what courts generally are tailoring to. I like when he said "just because it is ridiculed doesn't make it unpopular." This is a genius thought. We hear the two extremes all the time and those who are willing to yell their opinion, but there are those who feel neutral or even those who just keep it all to themselves.

The second story that I loved was rethinking how they accommodate protestors. This is something id never think of. Sending that strong signal of who has strength is very important to me. Because I know for a fact I have no rank, no pull. But once I speak up and conjoin with other and more and more people then I finally am gaining some rank. I have never actually been to a protest and that saddens me because there is a lot I believe to be true and yet I do nothing about them. I do not want to go and set things on fire and break windows, but I want to come together as a community and march for what I know to be right. I like the thought of places to gather, debate and have comfortable discussions. Also along with this Sean Spicer saying that the Boston Tea Party was an organic protest, but these are all payed and inorganic. HA. Thats what I have to say to you Sean Spicer. I am sorry that you are tired of waking up everyday and being reminded by the publics how much you and Trump and his administration are disliked. Its sad that people think that those that are turning out are being discredited with misinformation. Because that is dismissing them and then disregard gin the seriousness from the reality being protested. The mayhem with always be what the cameras are focusing on, not the hundreds of others that are peacefully bringing awareness.

The third story I want to discuss is Milo. The fact that one single man can be such a large troll to get protests against him. I do not understand how someone like him can wake up and feel good about proceeding on in his life. I see trolls swarming all of social media and the only way they can get power is for us to give it to them. Now this guy may be kind of shitty, but if we ignored his existence his relevance would deteriorate. He may not be Hitler, but he is no Ghandi and we shouldn't highlight the books this guy is writing and vandalizing. Milo is a troll and if we stopped listening he would have no choice, but to move on. Personally the trolls I see on Youtube or twitter, I just ignore them. I don't join the fight, I don't even use their name because the simple thing can give them so much power. Truthfully it sickens me how dumbfounded our society has become with prevacatoure and situations such as these. I think even bringing Milo on to OTM was too much because we just need to stop the hate spreading.

Sunday, February 12, 2017

Ideal App-

Unrealistically I would say an app that just put thousands of dollars into your bank account a day.

Realistically I would love to have an app that was based on local events and activities. I would love to be able to click on to an app and see what concerts and parties and charity events and all sorts of activities were happening.
 Seeing the free ones and what costs money and even local hikes that are a good time or fun places to visit. I think that the app could be run by a group of people, but the activities get sent in like Facebook events and then there are some permanent places to visit and people could give feedback.

Lets say for example someone was throwing a party at the Falls and it was open invite for people from 18-38 then those people could go make an appearance and comment things about if the parties still going or how they're having fun.
I would love to have an app to see all these activities. Especially because I am not from here and it feels like theres nothing much to do, but I am sure there is something going on most the time.

 There may be something similar out there, but I personally have never been able to find one. If anyone out there reading this wants to create this please do and send me the link I will download it and participate.

I would just have the events or locations posted with little bios and then comment sections and ratings and sometimes even external links to the website or where to purchase tickets or mapping it.

This app would make my life even more adventue-filled because you could go to these events and meet the other people there that are also looking for fun activities to do.

Thursday, February 9, 2017

Well Informed-
(something I'd like to be)
2.0 Education
 Education is not a one level system, there is a lot that is going into our education system today. I have been surrounded my whole life with teacher, my dad was a teacher for 27 years, my mom is currently still a teacher on her 7th year, and my sister is also a teacher going on her 5th year. I have seen the good, the bad, and the ugly of teaching from my own perspective and theirs. I also had a lot of great relationships with many teachers over the years. I was one of the few people that actually thought of teachers also being real people and understanding and being willing to go to them for help. But I never put that much thought into the education I was being given. I appreciated the idea of receiving an education and I took full advantage of the system. I took concurrent enrollment all throughout high school and I am now an 18 year old with her associate degree.

Yet I never delved into the thoughts of the future of education or what we could be doing.  One of "I remember bits of it fondly, but not the bits I should remember" This quote truly struck me with a chain reaction of thoughts. Not only thinking of what I actually remember, but the fact that I disagree. I do not regret remember playing the ugly duckling in my 4th grade play, just like I do not regret remembering what the cell theory is from biology my sophomore year of high school. There are those key things we need to learn and expand our brain with yes, but I think we need to reevaluate what we are teaching. The systems need to teach kids how to read, write, do certain math in their heads, and even understand how to do the more difficult math in a calculator.

While reading Eric's post I so badly wanted to agree and relate, but somehow I feel like I am one of those kids that spent a lot more time in a screen than in my life. Don't get me wrong, my friends and I played in the sprinklers every summer and went long boarding in middle school (gotta love wanting to be independent so badly that you'll convince your dad to buy you a longboard just so he can drive you to your friends house with it in the trunk.) I did outdoor activities and played with my friends, but I mainly connected over social media. We were facebooking and tweeting and instagramming. We weren't just enjoying each moment, we had to involve everyone at school as well. I am thankful for modern technology, but I am also saddened that a lot of people around me would rather text me than call me, Facebook me instead of going to lunch. I got raised to be independent and do these things, but this was not taught in class. This is how I was raised because my dad saw what the world was turning into.

The video called it risky play. That to me was intriguing in itself. Ive heard hundreds of stories of things others use to do and the trouble they would get themselves into, but that that outdoor arena of junk was called risky is a lot to process. Maybe its because I don't see it the same as a parent would. I am sure there comes this new level of worry when a child is your own and you think you know the depths of their capability, but I think I would love to allow my child to go out and experience some of these things on their own and figure out what their abilities actually hold.

Yes I agree the world is changing, partially because of technology and new advancements and needing to teach children all these new things such as typing classes, but I also think we are educating these children less than they could handle. From personal experience there are two main students, those who go out on their own and take those extra hard classes and are completely and utterly swamped and then there are those who just take the regular classes and slide by get whatever grade they want to "work" for.

I do think in my past the education I got was jumping through a lot of hoops. Even to get my associates I had to jump through hoops to make the educators happy. You just comply and do the bare minimum and work for those A's. Now I have discussed things of this sort with a few others, but I wanted to look into "the public" opinion. I started to research and this is what popped up... 
Now the first thing I asked myself was, why were all these people researching this? My first thought, others doing projects or assignments on this, second thought, parents researching, third thought students that want to drop out and needed to come up with good reasonings to tell their parents. 

There could be a lot more to each situation, but this in itself was interesting to me that the top two have such different meanings. Society vs students needs. I wish I could understand, but I believe strongly that the students need should be valued much higher than societies. Yes we do need doctors and other people in our society that are well educated and even just people being educated about the world around them is very important. I just wish our schools had an easier answer to educating these students in being knowledgeable, but also teaching them how to be good respectable people of society. 

I stumbled upon this list of facts on a poll of Americans and some questions on their thoughts of schooling. These numbers shocked me especially comparing them to fifty years ago, etc. This post is now five years old, but its still incredible to me to see what other Americans were thinking on this subject five years ago.

https://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/answer-sheet/post/poll-americans-views-on-public-education/2012/08/22/37203c5a-ebcf-11e1-aca7-272630dfd152_blog.html?utm_term=.cdf0bc655023

On a final note, I wish in school I learned how to file taxes or even just real world information like more on politics and what is happening around the world or how to finance, how to create credit. There is a lot of valuable information that we are missing out on teaching the kids of tomorrow. 

Wednesday, February 1, 2017



Facebook-


My Facebook campaign is for Corporate Alliance of Southern Utah. I work there and decided to take on all CA's social media. Mainly because I know what a large impact social media has and the other part is because I am sad for what our current social media is looking like.






My Target Audience-


The main members of Corporate Alliance are white males that are 40+. Of course we have slight variety there are some female and such, but I am looking to aim my post to the members of Corporate Alliance. Those who are already members, but this is another way to connect with them and keep them informed. Now this has already proven a bit difficult because so far nothing I've done has caught much traction. I am working on meeting their likes. My next main audience is potential clients. People that may be interested in CA and find the page to look on a more personal level. The next target I want to get some feedback from is friends of those members and people who can see through their connections.






Marketing-


I have started to link all the social media forums in hopes that people will connect on the platform of their choice. I plan on expanding the Facebook a lot. Because people in my target audience typically use Facebook the most. While I plan on keeping them all updated, I am going to be most active on my FB. I want to talk with the President about a few ideas and okay them first, but I want to keep the events posted and done. I also want to do videos with members sharing their experiences. I want to see if I can do something to kind of shout out a business of the week to keep people updated and even inform when we get a new member. I have a lot of ideas and images in my brain, but I just need to get the mess of a Facebook page organized and running. I have already started a few posts and updating information.





I am hoping by the end to have a minimum of 500 likes because when I started we were under 400! Lots of these are old members and very few of the new members.