Tuesday, April 25, 2017

Final Facebook Campaign Evaluation-


One of my main goals at the begging of this was to gain traction on the page. The Corporate Alliance of Southern Utah ended up reaching almost 430 likes, so I increased by about 60 likes. This is not where I had imagined, but when I go and look at the amount of new members we have gained in the past months to the amount of likes its a good ratio. I hoped to be at around 500 likes, which I still am aiming for, but it will definitely take me some more time. 

One of my main tactics was to be a frequent poster of quality content, but try and mix it up and post things that get a lot of interaction. Post that include pictures, videos, contests, promotions, etc. This ended up working really well because people were becoming familiar and getting use to Corporate Alliance popping up on their feeds and posting updates.
Something I had not anticipates was a lot of people contact me and asking questions over Facebook Messanger instead of calling the office. It ended up being a good connection tool, but there is still a lot of room to grow. Prior to me taking over Facebook there was no frequency and really only a couple shares or posts here and there. I decided to be interactive and like members post on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter. I shared posts and occasionally commented on them. I figured why not do to our members as we wanted done to us. 
The most successful post on Facebook, that reached the most people, and had the best reaction was a recent post. Pictured Below---

While evaluating why this post did the best, I realized this is one of the posts I was most scared to post. This wasn't a post for our event, but an event we were sponsoring and had tickets to giveaway to our members. Since this isn't our regular post I wanted to jazz it up a bit, and I decided to add some emojis, which I was nervous would make it seem less professional, but I think it got the message across just right. I also think tagging the location and the sponsors helped because it was posted onto their pages as well. Over all I learned I need to be professional in my post, and get the message across, but still be personable. The post wasn't interacted with a lot, but it reached far and I received a lot of calls about the tickets, the message was given and that's success.

Here are a few other examples of some status updates. 1. There is a regular post with some comment interactions.
 2. Post made after and event with pictures of guests. 
3. Second most reached post of a pictures invite to our Women's Summit.
4. Regular status updates on upcoming events. 
 
5. Attempt to post events in Facebooks event categories. This did not end up working because people would try and solely RSVP through there even though we had that turned off on our end.
In the end, the regular updates did well and I had people tell me it helped remind them. But our audience reacted best to regular updates and pictures of events and themselves. 
The ad I did was a "Call Now" which was a promotion to call and get a discount or a trial membership for our different branches and whatever fit yours. When discussing doing the AD this is what my boss wanted done and he ran it for the multiple days. We ended up getting a lot of page views, but not calls. I suspected this, but he wanted to try it out and I respected that. I will probably run an ad in a couple weeks (I work for this company and my boss wants me to stay in charge of the Social Media). The ad I am planning on running is going to be an interactive ad about our company and is just going to invite them to our upcoming events. I think this will work better at getting people to our facilities rather than making them call and immediately purchase a membership or feel pressured to. 

Like I previously stated, my course of action was being more active and hoped this would prompt likes and shares. This ended up working a bit, but it wasn't the quantity I wanted to see. So I started to promote our social media at events. I would post up in the front all our handles and to go "follow" or "like us". Even to have people start checking in at lunch/ breakfast events. This was another great tool because people started to do it and in return their following was being updated and this could spark their curiosity. I know I would wonder where someone was checking in a few times a month.

I think when I posted at specific times when my audience was able to see them and interact with them  I had the most reach and visits. The people interacted the most when the post was personable, or was beneficial to them, or had a picture of them in it. I posted lots of photos from different events and activities we hosted which seemed to not reach quite as far, but they were liked and shared the most. Also when I tagged other organizations or people in posts it increased not only the traffic and reach on the post, but across the page. 

The other channels I used for cross promotion was Instagram and Twitter. I just barely found out we had a LinkedIn and I am going to also start using that in the future. But Instagram was a fun platform for me to interact with everyone else and see their pictures, like and comment. Twitter was a lot less popular, but since a few people were on there I tried to not neglect it. I also made sure to post about each of the different platforms on them so that people were able to find their preferable social network to connect with us.

I think I did a decent job because keeping up with this social media ending up being a daunting task. I caught myself a few times posting mundane things and had to remind myself, "what would you want to be seeing." After this thought I would try and come up with more sociable posts while still being professional. It was hard for me to get a grip on what my target audience liked to see because they were all really bad at communicating with me. Instagram ended up being the most popular, which surprised me. I would ask members in person if they had been seeing things and to get a little isight from the humans. 

One of my favorite things that happened on social media was a golden member of Corporate Alliance. I had someone message me on Facebook and say something to the affect of I saw your posts and I would like to learn more. I invited him to events set up and appointment and now two months later he is one of our most active members and has been able to create those great relationships that CA is there for. 

The different thing I would do is start to collect videos of members and put even more time into it. Doing a strong social media platform for this Company itself would probably require ten hours a week. From getting content, editing, communicating, marketing and then posting it all. It is doable, but my goals in the future after this are progressing and hopefully this can keep growing. 








Sunday, April 9, 2017

Sustainability-APP NAME: iVolunteerSustainability Definition: Maintain a balance between handling the needs of the less fortunate and those willing to offer assistance without depleting resources.
Needs & Interests:
By age, 35- to 44-year-olds and 45- to 54-year-olds were the most likely to volunteer (28.9 percent and 28.0 percent, respectively). Volunteer rates were lowest among 20- to 24-year-olds (18.4 percent).https://www.bls.gov/news.release/volun.htm
Pain: Without resources, nonprofits simply don’t have the capacity to effectively engage volunteers. Without volunteers, there is only so much a non-profit organization can do to help people. According to the 2015 report, 24.9% of the U.S. population over the age of 16 volunteered at least once in the past year. In 2011, this percentage was 26.8%, and in 2005 it was 28.8%.http://blogs.volunteermatch.org/engagingvolunteers/2016/03/25/the-u-s-volunteer-rate-is-still-dropping-why/ Equitable BusinessThe app will give the ability to bring attention to the volunteer opportunities while being fair and not taking priority over anyone. All the events that are put in the app will be put into it correctly. There also will be an option for those who cannot spend time. There will be donation option where the money can get donated directly to the cause.
Reduce WasteBy enticing people to use this app to record their volunteer hours, this will reduce paper consumption. As a result, this app will promote low waste among users. This can especially be beneficial for students involved with clubs or other extracurriculars that require a documented report of volunteer hours. By integrating this app with schools, teachers and professors can keep updated records of every students’ volunteer hours without printing them out.  This feature would work by allowing the users you follow to share current updates of where the app checks them in for a particular volunteer event. The moment they check in at that specific location, a clock starts to to document how long they’re there. The moment they leave the event, the app’s location services will identify that the volunteer has left and end the timer. The number of hours will then be submitted to the volunteer’s page for their followers to see. By using this interactive feature, it allows people to keep updated on where others are volunteering.
Fuel Consumption iVolunteer has the opportunity to reduce the amount of carbon dioxide produced and pumped into the atmosphere. By pinpointing the location of the volunteer and the event site, the app would be able to generate the necessary data to provide estimations for travel (mileage, time, etc.) and map out alternate routes. Whether the transportation involve bicycling, public buses, or carpooling, all will help decrease our carbon footprint. ”Public transportation with its overarching effects on land use, is estimated to reduce CO2 emissions by 37 million metric tons annually” http://www.apta.com/resources/reportsandpublications/documents/greenhouse_brochure.pdf


Well Informed #3-
Religion 2.0

For my final WI, I decided to focus on religion because this has been a very confusing and common discussion in my life recently. To start off this post I will give background information on me and then I will do this research and come back with further information and hopeful new ideas and stand points. 
I was born and raised in South Jordan Utah. Where the main religion is the Latter Day Saints. I was raised by a mother who ranked religion as the number one importance in her life, she was raised and still from what I am aware is a devout LDS member. My dad was raised by a catholic mother and  slightly active LDS father. His mom pretended to like the LDS religion for my grandpa and my dad never really went to church or did any of that. My parents were married in an LDS Temple and were sealed. Warning some of this may be a bit more personal than intended, but I think it is necessary to get my ideas and lay it all out. Now back to my story, jump ahead 25 years after they have had three children who were all baptized into the church at the age of 8 and they got a Temple divorce. There is a bit of a mess to this story because of strange and cooked things within the church, but long story short my mom knew someone and knew how to get this divorce done and my dad did not want the temple divorce, but she wanted to be able to marry someone else and a lot more adult drama. Which I did not find out most of until I was in high school. My parents got divorced when I was in middle school and my main caretake was my dad. I basically stopped constantly going to church once I was 12 because I hated going and my dad wanted me to make my own decisions. I love that about him, he didn't try to shove anything down my throat he wanted to guide me. 
I am an eighteen year old and I do not goto any church, I have never been a religious person, but I am very spiritual. I believe in God and I pray and I know what I think is real about there being an after life and I do not think God wanted us to fear him, yet religion is for those that are fearful in my honest opinion. Nothing wrong with wanting that validation and structure and community and good for you if it works, but for me its not whats best. I think social media is a key factor in the drop in those being a part of religions. We now have this many platforms where we are able to find a sense of community and talk with others and relate and learn from peoples mistakes. Now it may not be face to face or always about religion, but it is just a different type.I think religion is thought to be this touchy subject because there are so many realigns, but I think we should just be open and honest. This would make things be less secretive and seem less "cultish" if I am allowed to say that. I think when you are trying to hide things its not good, but if you're up front even if its something I don't want to hear about I commend you. 
I can understand why people want to go to church every Sunday or Wednesday or Saturday, whenever they meet, why they like going back and seeing those people and connecting and having this morals and structure handed to them. I see the likeness of it, but I wonder if they ever feel pressured or if this is just a part of the Utah LDS religion guilt that was given to me. Every religion is different, every person is different, but we all go through similar things. Maybe we just really do crave more human interaction and this is a good way to get it.
I do not think everyone on Instagram posting pictures of religious symbols or people tweeting scriptures are trying to use it as a form of religion, but it is. Even when someone is just discussing their most recent heart break or troubled-ness I think this is a form of religion. I know typically you wouldn't go to church for this, but its almost like media ethics are a play into our media religion. Not that you can't be on the media and still believe in a religion.
I looked up the exact definition of religion and this is what I got. Its interesting to read this because Atheist is a type of religion, yet they do not believe in god or controlling powers. Now there is a lot of garbage going on in social media and I am not saying that social media is this holy and glorious place to be meeting and discussing, but I think this could potentially be taking people aware from church. Along with movies and music and shows. You never hear about Kanye West going to church and it isn't popularized to do so. Its good to roll a joint and get a hot girl to "go back to your crib." The media is much more open and there room for almost everything and there are even apps like we discussed in class where you can do things you would only do in a church online in an app now. The world is changing and religion isn't excluded from that. 


OTM #3-
16 tons of not much at all, is really a lot. President Trump was with the coal miners to review/ dismantle the clean power plant. Which was lessening climate change, which IS REAL. Those who think climate change aren't real, but still listen to a groundhog on if were going to have a longer winter. I hate to see a lot of coal mine jobs disappearing because we need to have jobs for our citizens, but we need to keep the clean power act. When I saw the blip about what this one was about made me think about the people of Appalachia and specifically "The children of the mountains." This was a 20/20 film in 2009 and I have done a case study on this for my Media Ethics class. Not only do those people constantly get screwed by themselves, but also the large coal corporations are constantly taking advantage of those people in eastern Kentucky. The stories you hear are true, but it isn't about the entire populations. There are a lot of urgent needs and this is not that new of a political tilt. The expert that said its gotten different, but she isn't sure if it had gotten better. At least she is being honest. After the election there was this shift. Everyone is showing this two extremes of either help these poor sad humans, or take away the coal miners heath care wahoo. There have been a lot of companies trying to help the people of Appalachia shift to a non coal mine country. I cannot believe the CEO's of companies would  dress up as coal miner just to sit in on the meeting with others. I am intrigued and want to read "what you are getting wrong about Appalachia."

The second story I want to focus on is the privacy and abuse, watch dogs, whistle blowing, etc in the media. Specifically freedom of information. Public Information is amazing and somehow I just learned about it this semester and being able to request information and the time frames and legally governments and public records having to give you information. They also charged him even though he was a journalist, which is interesting they can say that this was not wanted by the public, even though it is. I would have also gotten a lot of red flags when the NSA was trying to protect their records. Using the law for the benefit of the publics interest is one hundred percent legal. FOYA request needs to be put in, in order to get a FOYA from someone. Its crazy how long people are allowed to take to give you information because of how much info they have and how complex they are allowed to make them and they give you the complex ones instead of their simplified forms.

The third story in this OTM I wanted to focus on is the Podcast section. Making a Murderer was extremely popular all over my social media theme while it was first relevant. I have listened to one episode of Serial as a homework assignment and I want to keep listening because it compelled me to find the answer and I am intrigued. It hooked me. A lot of the podcasts I see in social media are you tubers who have their own show or the random how its done and comedy acts turned into podcasts. I love shows like SVU and so I think I will watch the rest of serial and I am tempted to retry watching Making a Murderer. Podcasts are amazing because you can hear this whole story and imagine it all in your mind while driving or just doing your normal mundane tasks. We get to hear a story without having to read it because wow can you imagine having to read something. Its amazing to receive that gratitude in your attitude. And being allowed to hear stories and get peoples messages out there that you never before would have though you known. Thats the beauty and terror in the media. Everyone can know everything. Its great to be able to get all the information out there, but its terrible because we are unable to hide all our dirty laundry or things that everyone doesn't need to know. But I know that I want to know who are sex offenders that live near my house, yet I'm sure they wish I didn't know.
On the Media #2- Highly Irregular
"Congress with authority over Executive branch."

The story I chose to focus on first was the alleged wiretapping of Trump from Obama. I love the fact that trump tried to play victim again and say he is great enough of a threat to Obama somehow that he would take time out of his life to take surveillance on him. Then to have it be called "hogwash" right in Trumps face is sos satisfying.
 Incidental collection as a whole freaks me out. Especially because they call it fair game and know that this is opening many new lines to surveillance on us as American citizens as well as foreigners. I hate when things are "masked" and hidden from me, but I do to a degree appreciate the surveillance because there are always those chances of plans of terrorism or something terrible going on and this could diminish some of it.

To be blatantly honest I am unsure of how I feel about this incidental collection and surveillance as a whole. Because after hearing that there are all those "exceptions" it makes me wonder if the government is keeping my information ever. I have no plans and I mean no harm, but this would feel like a misuse to me personally.  Then again when it is someone else I see the importance of "keeping tabs" to a degree and checking in. So then there is this middle ground I think should be found of not going overboard and not listening or watching unless necessary.

The basis of my understanding prior to this was that nothing is private, and after hearing this my ideas are validated. This is not what I want, but this is what I was assuming. I don't have a good way of fixing this, but I want to know what is going on with my information they are taking. I don't like being left in the dark like the government does to us.
It was interesting to me to hear them say this wiretapping made the conservatives specifically uncomfortable. Because like what she said about the voting for the 702 was passed by of conservatives and then seeing the shift within those people once they saw it in action should make us prioritize. I love Elizas ideas on saying it should be clear to us what the government can or cannot do because this is also what I want.

The second was the dooming of us to North Korea.

Hearing all the different peoples voice over leads on the North Koreas missiles and threats scares me as a citizen because it sounds just like the blips you hear in movies before wars or in the lead before the catastrophe happens on TV.
While I am no expert on our relations with North Korea and don't know if this will really happen, hearing that this is a predictable state and they are only defensive makes me slightly less scared and slightly more scared as our new president is Donald Trump. Is he going to try and waterboard all of North Korea? Is he doing things and saying things to them that we do not know about? Are we going to be okay for four more years until the next election? All I have is so many questions.
 This discussion was so interesting to me. When he said this is an on going battle of "chest puffing" it clicked. Thats whats happening. Why do people feel this need to show how you are better than the other person. This thought makes me go very deep into my head and I just think if this person made one different decision or married someone different or was raised by someone different would they always be chest puffing in whatever career they ended up in? Would they still be apart of a military or government? It raises so many questions that kind of fall within

We have all been blinded to the people of North Korea and we are only focusing on their nastiness, but not the other peoples problems. They still have the famine, but it is doing better and they are starting to get better. I cannot believe Kim-Jong Un has been ruling North Kore for eight years.

I loved that he said to discredit 90% of what you hear about North Korea. This makes me think of the boy who cried wolf, but this time its within americas media and North Korea. Then he said the same thing when will we know this is truly an issue we are facing in America. Were 25 years in to them testing their missiles. The main point I keep getting is were completely over looking all the truth issues.

Of course America would turn something so sad into humor. It is what we are best at, hiding behind our jokes and trying to avoid reality. I had no idea there were political concentration camps and such terror within society and humans there.

When the core is rotten- everything around it will rot.
This is our society. I love the analogy and hate it. Because once something rots you can't get it back. But you need something new. Maybe it is time for our media to fresh start and figure out the issues.

The third story is the secretary of state Rex Tillerson visiting Asia. He couldn't make it to the meeting and then he became a joke of the media, but he did not have press core with him and so there was nothing that could be done to try and damage control. He only went with one journalist so he couldn't counter act the fake news. It was interesting that they got called a board rather than just viewers. Especially because they could potentially even be more involved and understanding than the secretary of state. Its interesting to me that someone in a high standard can walk away and smooth away an answer until they know what they should answer. This is crazy to think, but luckily we finally get an answer.

Discussing the code of the diplomatic speech takes me back to my writing for media class I am in. W are given information in certain jargon and we have to be able to turn that into modern terms so that the "readers" and ourselves are able to understand what we are reporting about and so we can know what kind of questions to ask.

This takes me to a discussion I was having with my dad the other day. I have never loved school so much in my entire life. I am not in my degree and the things I am learning are taught by people that believe in me and the things they are teaching are prevalent. I am actually taking in the knowledge as well as using it in my life. I don't remember the difference between meiosis and mitosis and I only did when I remembered it for my Biology tests. I am thankful for the media even if there are down sides. And overall I love being a media studies student and all the information.

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Automatic Attitudinal Response-
While going over some of my blog posts all I could think about was the discussion we had in class about racism. The girl who had posted on her Facebook that she was a racist in particular. This discussion along with the discussion on religion have been the two that have stuck at the front of my brain. My whole life growing up I was surrounded by middle class people who were typically all white and we really had no diversity. Yet I thought since I was traveling and didn't use the N word and knew that racism was bad, that I was not racist. Now I have come to realize I have these terrible defaults and acknowledging them is just the start. My dad is my favorite person in the world, but it has taken time for him to adjust. He was raised by two very racists upper class white people who had no culture and thought they could use derogatory terms. Not being that bad made me feel good. But it doesn't mean I don't have those thoughts. I have noticed my min biases come when I am alone. Because I am scared. I am not sure what has happened to me, to make it so I feel this way, but I wish I didn't. It is not all the time, but a lot of the time I am in a new place with new people I get nervous and start to process and make those judgements. I have been trying my best to take them away because I know they are stupid, but they are deep rooted in me. If you have time whoever is reading this go play White Privilege II by Macklemore. Just really listen because this song is great at describing how I have always felt. I am not sure why I am more comfortable going to a PRIDE walk or rally then I am a BLM rally because I am not a part of the LGBTQ community or the black one, but I feel okay in one and discouraged in the other. After going back on my posts I realized how all I wanted was for those good grades and to be able to not sound stupid. I just read Millies post after being stuck in mine and honestly I have felt the same all semester. I have been apprehensive to post because I am now realizing how little I know and I hate being uneducated. I am scared of knowing nothing and sounding dumb and being dumb. I just want to know, but you can't know everything. I want to help everyone, but I don't think I ma capable and I know I just need to educated myself and spread knowledge and love and then try and find the answer if one exisits. My default has been intelligent. I am too scared to admit when I think one thing, but the only reason I think the is because I heard someone else say it. I don't actually know. And I have realized I relied too much on others and so I feel as though I have just been trying to gain my own opinions based off of little bits of research. My defaults aren't even fully my own opinion and thats hard for me to say.

Monday, February 27, 2017

Racism 2.0
The first thing I did was Google what is race baiting and the result was interesting.

The fact that it stated it that liberals are the ones that are using this term is the most shocking to me. But yet it kind of makes sense. I wanted to see what the internet had to say before I watched the video. 

"A slave was considered unfortunate not inferior." This quote really stuck with me. Because African American slaves in America were treated inferior, but they were also thought of as "unfortunate" for being black. Because if there were two children born at the same time, but were a different race their lives would be completely and utterly so different it makes me sick to think about it. Before it use to be on the wrong side of the war.

 Truthfully I have never dealt with racism in my personal life. While I have seen videos on the internet and such, I haven't been a part of the racism or been discriminated for my race. Since I grew up in South Jordan, Utah I was the majority and truthfully there wasn't a melting pot of people. Just a lot of white people middle and upper class. Now there were some variations, but the majority was definite. While it hasn't effected me directly that I know of, I still know that this is a major issue and I am against it 100%. I try and do my part (what I can), but this is mainly me telling my grandpa that he isn't allowed to throw around racial slurs and he should never call anyone a coon, whether is he "joking" or people need to stop being so sensitive. I agree that the new generation is full of a lot of sensitivity, this is not people being sensitive this is a real major issue. 

My favorite is when he stated that we would still have these major issues and need reform, but the three tiers are still real. No matter how often I hear about the poverty in America it still shocks me. I recently heard about the "hidden America, children of the mountains," this made me feel like absolute shit. That I am here complaining about things like not having ice cream or running out of coffee creamer, while people IN AMERICA do not have running water or electricity, they have never been to the dentist and yet we sit around and do nothing. Our country is doing nothing, but there are a few that are and I want to join them. Because I am done being a bystander for racism, poverty, and all the injustices that are occurring. 

The Race Baiting video is incredible and I want to share it on my Facebook and show everyone I know. 

Wednesday, February 15, 2017

On the Media-
The first story I want to discuss is the protests. It is interesting to hear how many protests there have been recently. Civil disobedience blows my mind. I understand wanting to create a larger penalty for this and I can see some of the value for raising the punishment. Part of this in my mind could be to scare others off so that this uproar in civil disobedience is taken down, but I am also scared that this can go too far and completely take away our rights as citizens. Some of the topics they brought up about what courts generally are tailoring to. I like when he said "just because it is ridiculed doesn't make it unpopular." This is a genius thought. We hear the two extremes all the time and those who are willing to yell their opinion, but there are those who feel neutral or even those who just keep it all to themselves.

The second story that I loved was rethinking how they accommodate protestors. This is something id never think of. Sending that strong signal of who has strength is very important to me. Because I know for a fact I have no rank, no pull. But once I speak up and conjoin with other and more and more people then I finally am gaining some rank. I have never actually been to a protest and that saddens me because there is a lot I believe to be true and yet I do nothing about them. I do not want to go and set things on fire and break windows, but I want to come together as a community and march for what I know to be right. I like the thought of places to gather, debate and have comfortable discussions. Also along with this Sean Spicer saying that the Boston Tea Party was an organic protest, but these are all payed and inorganic. HA. Thats what I have to say to you Sean Spicer. I am sorry that you are tired of waking up everyday and being reminded by the publics how much you and Trump and his administration are disliked. Its sad that people think that those that are turning out are being discredited with misinformation. Because that is dismissing them and then disregard gin the seriousness from the reality being protested. The mayhem with always be what the cameras are focusing on, not the hundreds of others that are peacefully bringing awareness.

The third story I want to discuss is Milo. The fact that one single man can be such a large troll to get protests against him. I do not understand how someone like him can wake up and feel good about proceeding on in his life. I see trolls swarming all of social media and the only way they can get power is for us to give it to them. Now this guy may be kind of shitty, but if we ignored his existence his relevance would deteriorate. He may not be Hitler, but he is no Ghandi and we shouldn't highlight the books this guy is writing and vandalizing. Milo is a troll and if we stopped listening he would have no choice, but to move on. Personally the trolls I see on Youtube or twitter, I just ignore them. I don't join the fight, I don't even use their name because the simple thing can give them so much power. Truthfully it sickens me how dumbfounded our society has become with prevacatoure and situations such as these. I think even bringing Milo on to OTM was too much because we just need to stop the hate spreading.

Sunday, February 12, 2017

Ideal App-

Unrealistically I would say an app that just put thousands of dollars into your bank account a day.

Realistically I would love to have an app that was based on local events and activities. I would love to be able to click on to an app and see what concerts and parties and charity events and all sorts of activities were happening.
 Seeing the free ones and what costs money and even local hikes that are a good time or fun places to visit. I think that the app could be run by a group of people, but the activities get sent in like Facebook events and then there are some permanent places to visit and people could give feedback.

Lets say for example someone was throwing a party at the Falls and it was open invite for people from 18-38 then those people could go make an appearance and comment things about if the parties still going or how they're having fun.
I would love to have an app to see all these activities. Especially because I am not from here and it feels like theres nothing much to do, but I am sure there is something going on most the time.

 There may be something similar out there, but I personally have never been able to find one. If anyone out there reading this wants to create this please do and send me the link I will download it and participate.

I would just have the events or locations posted with little bios and then comment sections and ratings and sometimes even external links to the website or where to purchase tickets or mapping it.

This app would make my life even more adventue-filled because you could go to these events and meet the other people there that are also looking for fun activities to do.

Thursday, February 9, 2017

Well Informed-
(something I'd like to be)
2.0 Education
 Education is not a one level system, there is a lot that is going into our education system today. I have been surrounded my whole life with teacher, my dad was a teacher for 27 years, my mom is currently still a teacher on her 7th year, and my sister is also a teacher going on her 5th year. I have seen the good, the bad, and the ugly of teaching from my own perspective and theirs. I also had a lot of great relationships with many teachers over the years. I was one of the few people that actually thought of teachers also being real people and understanding and being willing to go to them for help. But I never put that much thought into the education I was being given. I appreciated the idea of receiving an education and I took full advantage of the system. I took concurrent enrollment all throughout high school and I am now an 18 year old with her associate degree.

Yet I never delved into the thoughts of the future of education or what we could be doing.  One of "I remember bits of it fondly, but not the bits I should remember" This quote truly struck me with a chain reaction of thoughts. Not only thinking of what I actually remember, but the fact that I disagree. I do not regret remember playing the ugly duckling in my 4th grade play, just like I do not regret remembering what the cell theory is from biology my sophomore year of high school. There are those key things we need to learn and expand our brain with yes, but I think we need to reevaluate what we are teaching. The systems need to teach kids how to read, write, do certain math in their heads, and even understand how to do the more difficult math in a calculator.

While reading Eric's post I so badly wanted to agree and relate, but somehow I feel like I am one of those kids that spent a lot more time in a screen than in my life. Don't get me wrong, my friends and I played in the sprinklers every summer and went long boarding in middle school (gotta love wanting to be independent so badly that you'll convince your dad to buy you a longboard just so he can drive you to your friends house with it in the trunk.) I did outdoor activities and played with my friends, but I mainly connected over social media. We were facebooking and tweeting and instagramming. We weren't just enjoying each moment, we had to involve everyone at school as well. I am thankful for modern technology, but I am also saddened that a lot of people around me would rather text me than call me, Facebook me instead of going to lunch. I got raised to be independent and do these things, but this was not taught in class. This is how I was raised because my dad saw what the world was turning into.

The video called it risky play. That to me was intriguing in itself. Ive heard hundreds of stories of things others use to do and the trouble they would get themselves into, but that that outdoor arena of junk was called risky is a lot to process. Maybe its because I don't see it the same as a parent would. I am sure there comes this new level of worry when a child is your own and you think you know the depths of their capability, but I think I would love to allow my child to go out and experience some of these things on their own and figure out what their abilities actually hold.

Yes I agree the world is changing, partially because of technology and new advancements and needing to teach children all these new things such as typing classes, but I also think we are educating these children less than they could handle. From personal experience there are two main students, those who go out on their own and take those extra hard classes and are completely and utterly swamped and then there are those who just take the regular classes and slide by get whatever grade they want to "work" for.

I do think in my past the education I got was jumping through a lot of hoops. Even to get my associates I had to jump through hoops to make the educators happy. You just comply and do the bare minimum and work for those A's. Now I have discussed things of this sort with a few others, but I wanted to look into "the public" opinion. I started to research and this is what popped up... 
Now the first thing I asked myself was, why were all these people researching this? My first thought, others doing projects or assignments on this, second thought, parents researching, third thought students that want to drop out and needed to come up with good reasonings to tell their parents. 

There could be a lot more to each situation, but this in itself was interesting to me that the top two have such different meanings. Society vs students needs. I wish I could understand, but I believe strongly that the students need should be valued much higher than societies. Yes we do need doctors and other people in our society that are well educated and even just people being educated about the world around them is very important. I just wish our schools had an easier answer to educating these students in being knowledgeable, but also teaching them how to be good respectable people of society. 

I stumbled upon this list of facts on a poll of Americans and some questions on their thoughts of schooling. These numbers shocked me especially comparing them to fifty years ago, etc. This post is now five years old, but its still incredible to me to see what other Americans were thinking on this subject five years ago.

https://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/answer-sheet/post/poll-americans-views-on-public-education/2012/08/22/37203c5a-ebcf-11e1-aca7-272630dfd152_blog.html?utm_term=.cdf0bc655023

On a final note, I wish in school I learned how to file taxes or even just real world information like more on politics and what is happening around the world or how to finance, how to create credit. There is a lot of valuable information that we are missing out on teaching the kids of tomorrow. 

Wednesday, February 1, 2017



Facebook-


My Facebook campaign is for Corporate Alliance of Southern Utah. I work there and decided to take on all CA's social media. Mainly because I know what a large impact social media has and the other part is because I am sad for what our current social media is looking like.






My Target Audience-


The main members of Corporate Alliance are white males that are 40+. Of course we have slight variety there are some female and such, but I am looking to aim my post to the members of Corporate Alliance. Those who are already members, but this is another way to connect with them and keep them informed. Now this has already proven a bit difficult because so far nothing I've done has caught much traction. I am working on meeting their likes. My next main audience is potential clients. People that may be interested in CA and find the page to look on a more personal level. The next target I want to get some feedback from is friends of those members and people who can see through their connections.






Marketing-


I have started to link all the social media forums in hopes that people will connect on the platform of their choice. I plan on expanding the Facebook a lot. Because people in my target audience typically use Facebook the most. While I plan on keeping them all updated, I am going to be most active on my FB. I want to talk with the President about a few ideas and okay them first, but I want to keep the events posted and done. I also want to do videos with members sharing their experiences. I want to see if I can do something to kind of shout out a business of the week to keep people updated and even inform when we get a new member. I have a lot of ideas and images in my brain, but I just need to get the mess of a Facebook page organized and running. I have already started a few posts and updating information.





I am hoping by the end to have a minimum of 500 likes because when I started we were under 400! Lots of these are old members and very few of the new members.

Tuesday, January 24, 2017

#obamaout
#inauguration
#twittervsfacebook
This blog post is deticated to our new President of the UNITED States of America, Donald Trump. Firstly whether or not you voted for him, against him, or did not vote at all, he is our president and he is in charge of this country we live in, so lets stop hoping he fails because I do not want to watch this country fail. 
I decided to watch the inauguration on Twitter live feed and flipped between Facebook and Instagram. It was incredibly interesting to see the major differences between the social media platforms. Oddly enough I had a large mix between pro and anti Trump. The main posts I saw were actually about Obama. Which did not surprise me because I most definitely loved watching videos and post from Obama throughout his presidency. I have attatched a few of my favorite screenshots throughout Twitter. It was very rare for me to see anything about Trump that did not involve the Obamas. 



 "The iciest photo"
That is what was captioned on this picture. This is the last time Obama was leaving the White House. This picture actually hit me surprisingly hard. Because I cannot even imagine how I would feel being in his foot steps.

Monday, January 16, 2017

Hi there, my name is Savanna Rose Dubach I am 18 years old and I am originally from Salt Lake/ specifically South Jordan, Utah. This is my first year at Dixie, but I got my associates degree last semester because of concurrent enrollment in high school. So, oddly I guess I am a junior. I am getting a Media Studies Degree with and emphasis on Social Media. I have hopes to go into the PR world, but am still figuring it out as I go. Linked is a great picture of me by a garbage can, in Disneyland people take pictures with everything, but I told my dad the garbage cans get left out. Now as an annual pass holder you can imagine my dad has made me take pictures with all the different types and I have accumulated a lot of pictures of me by garbage cans in Disney. I hope you all enjoy this picture as much as my dad does.